Minutes To Midnight – Daily Post: Stroke of Midnight

Minutes To Midnight

Daily Post: Stroke of Midnight
Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

With just minutes to Midnight and the start of a brand new year, my teeth are clean and my face freshly washed, there is only one important thing left to do.

I cross the threshold into a darkened room, remove the clothes within which I have spent the oh so quiet evening in, I ready myself for bed and then face the last task before the new year arrives.

The solitary window has the blinds open and I can see the clear night sky through the darkness of the room, I slowly lower myself to the floor, I sit cross legged like a young child before it’s teacher, I clasp my hands together and lower my head, gently closing my eyes as my chin falls, before it comes to rest upon my beating chest.

Then I pray, starting with praise for the Lord for my day, another SoberDay, the 277th fantastic day that I have completed since that night of 29th March 2012, I offer further praise and thanks for the new life I have received over the last year, from the darkness of the early months I have risen over the year with new faith by the Lord’s grace.  Then I pray for my loved ones and friends, for those who face troubled times, the strength to get through, for those in happy times, the strength to maintain, for those I have hurt, the easing of their pain, but for me, I offer only praise, praise for the strength I find each day.

As I pray I hear the fireworks in the distance, the sounds of celebration surround me, but I am in my own quiet celebration, offering praise for the new life I was gifted in 2012, for the chance to live again and for the wonderful things God has planned for me in 2013, I don’t need fireworks, just this quiet moment, just me and our Lord.

As I say Amen and rise slowly to my feet, it’s minutes after midnight, a New Year has begun and this New Life waits with quiet anticipation for the amazing things that 2013 will bring.

The Lord our God is high and lifted up
The glory of His Son shines upon us
The banner of His love is over us
The Lord our God is high and exalted
(Here We Are by Jesus Culture)

Was this where I wanted to be, to be honest is there anywhere better to be than with God?

Happy New Year.
Wayne

15 thoughts on “Minutes To Midnight – Daily Post: Stroke of Midnight

      1. waynemali Post author

        Thank you Anne & Jill
        It was a great way to see in the New Year, I always praise first, then pray for others.
        One of those prayers was for you Jill, I hope things get better for you.
        Wayne

        Reply
  1. Maxima

    In this festive evening sleigh let you bring the best wishes of happiness :joy, love and happiness.May happiness and blessings to you and forever stop by and follow .
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Stroke of Midnight « angieinspired

  3. itchyfeetme

    Another great post Wayne. It reminded me of a Kutless track:

    How lovely is
    Your dwelling place
    Oh Lord Almighty,
    My soul doth long
    And even faints for You
    For here my heart is satisfied
    Within Your presence
    I see beneath
    The shadow of
    Your wings

    Better is one day in Your courts
    Better is one day in Your house
    Better is one day in Your courts
    Than thousands elsewhere

    Reply
    1. waynemali Post author

      I’ve got the Kutless track but I actually prefer the Something Like Silas version, I have used it with a post somewhere on here, you may find it on Music For Inspiration, I’m not sure, I part way through renovating that section, but have a listen.
      Thanks once again for your fantastic comment.
      Wayne

      Reply
  4. Pingback: I OFFER FRIENDSHIP « hastywords

Leave a Reply

