So How Do You Celebrate 600 SoberDays?

As with most days at moment it been one of those up and down sort of days. Even after only four hours sleep I did feel quite positive on the way to work, a number of songs came on that lifted me somewhat.

But having to explain to your Boss why you needed to arrange a Doctors appointment is never easy, especially in circumstances like this, although he was very understanding and told me to take what time I needed.

I managed to get an appointment for earlier this afternoon, the long and the short of it is I’ve been put on a course of antidepressants, as they take sometime to work it’s a six month course. I have to go back in a few weeks for a check up, the only appointment I could get is on my 40th birthday!

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this, even though it was my choice to take them, I guess it just because I feel so low. On the plus side, despite everything my blood pressure is still fine!

So tomorrow morning I start my 600th SoberDay by taking my first tablet, not sure that’s the way I envisaged celebrating 600 days, but if it sees me through to 750 days it can only be a good thing!

Hopefully it’s upwards from here, although it may take a few days to kick in, but anything has got to be better than randomly bursting into tears all over the place.

HOPE IS RISING by LUMINATE
This is the time for the rising
When our souls stand as one
This is the time for redemption
When all will see You come
This is the time for the healing
Broken lives are made new.
This is the time for revival
When all will bow to You.

Every prison has a door
Every captive can be free
Every sinner has a hope
And hope is rising up in me.

This is the will of a Maker
To see His children made whole
This is the will of a Savior
To lead His children home.

Every prison has a door
Every captive can be free
Every sinner has a hope
Now hope is rising up in me.

Holy Spirit, send Your power,
‘Cause only you can save us now.
Holy Spirit, send Your power,
‘Cause only you can save us now.

This is the time for the rising
This is the time for the rising
This is the time, this is our time
Now is the time for the rising.

Every prison has a door
Every captive can be free
Every sinner has a hope
Now hope is rising up in me.

Every prison has a door
Every captive, you will be free
Every sinner has a hope
Now, hope is rising up in me,
O hope is rising up in me.
Now, hope is rising up in me.

Every prison has a door
Every captive can be free
Every sinner has a hope
And hope is rising up in me.

5 thoughts on “So How Do You Celebrate 600 SoberDays?

  1. shoe1000

    Dear Friend,
    Taking medications is one of the toughest things for us. I have been sober for over 26 years and was prescribed them about 3 years ago. They didnt work for me. I tried 4 or 5 of them, I dont remember how many.
    I am not telling you to take them or not take them. What I have learned is that if we dont deal with the issues that got us depressed in the first place, it is a terrible battle. That is what caused me to start the blog I write at. There is also another friend who writes regularly for it also.
    More than anything, congratulations for your sobriety to you. I believe that we are chosen for this journey as it is as George Vallaint called it one of the most spiritual entities in the world. He included churches in that group.
    Jim

    Reply
    1. nopew

      I want to add my voice to yours, though your experience doesn’t require that. If it works, great. If it doesn’t there is another way. There is a way through, no matter what it takes!!
      Peace

      Reply
  2. tonyroberts64

    Good for you and praise God for 600 sober days. I made it to almost 600 before I went on anti-depressants (later to be diagnosed with bipolar). I now call my state of being “supervised psuedo-sobriety”. But hey — it’s still sobriety.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

