Four Years Of Blogging

It’s hard to believe that it’s four years today since I started this blog. I guess in that time it’s gone through a number of seasons, with the content changing as time has passed. I started mainly with just my story, but in a way there is only so many times I can tell that, but every now and again I do revisit it, as time changes my perspective of what and why things happened, as time passes I see more and more where God had His hand on the situation, even before I knew who He was.

When I started I didn’t really know what to expect, I hadn’t really written anything since I was at school, so to start committing everything that was happening in my life to words and posting on the internet was definitely a step into the unknown.

It’s been some time since I’ve written an article or anything in depth, this is something I plan to do more regularly, I am aware that even though I post a poem daily, I am not really giving my blog the attention is deserves, which includes visiting the many followers of this blog.

My current output is obviously mainly poetry, I have for the second year running set myself the task of posting one poem a day, based around a bible verse, it can be tough going and I’m not sure whether to continue with that next year also, although I believe that I will.

Also as my week goes by, I make notes of various thoughts or lines that come into my head, then on Sunday morning, as I listen to the worship band in church practice for the morning’s gathering, I use that time and atmosphere to turn each thought into a poem and post them during the day, this I will definitely continue to do.

Last weekend I returned to walking in the mornings, for the last year, the old cycle track I used to walk at the weekends has been shut off due to a new road and bridge being constructed, this has now been reopened and I walked it again last Saturday, eight and half miles, I ached after that, but I plan to walk it again this weekend too. I used to capture the sunrise at the lake on these journeys and post them on here, hopefully I will return to this too.

This journey isn’t always easy, the last few months have had their trials, this has been evident in some of my poetry, but I haven’t yet posted about it in any detail, this I will do over the next few weeks, but thank you all for being there supporting my as I go through all of it, this blog helps to take my mind off everything sometimes, especially when the verses I pick for the week speak into my situation.

So once again, thank you all for taking the time to read my work, thank you all for being part of this journey.

So here we are, I have now been sober for 1652 days, that’s 236 weeks, since that Thursday evening when I took that last drink, it’s been a rollercoaster and I’m sure it will continue to be, but it’s been great, living with the hand of the Father over my life.

HOPE IS THE ANTHEM by SWITCHFOOT
Sometimes what you need is what you fight
Like a wounded man out on the run
Like shadows hiding from the light
But your love is what I was running from

Hope’s a seed you have to sow
When you let it go it comes to life
So you stretch your arrows on the bow
And you pull them back and watch them fly

My heartbeat, my oxygen
My banner, my home
My future, my song
Your hope is the anthem of my soul

My lungs and I were born to fight
Sometimes I’m not sure what I’m fighting for
But death ain’t the only end in sight
‘Cause this ain’t a battle it’s a lifelong war

My heartbeat, my oxygen
My banner, my home
My freedom, my song
Your hope is the anthem of my soul
Your hope is the anthem of my soul

My heart is beating like a blown speaker
The spirit is willing but the flesh is weaker
A distortion pedal and a pair of wings
And an anthem played on broken strings

My heartbeat, my oxygen
My banner, my home
My future, my song
Your hope is the anthem
Your hope is the anthem of my soul

Your hope is the anthem of my soul
Your hope is the anthem of my soul
Your hope is the anthem of my soul
Your hope is the anthem of my soul

Yeah could you make me whole?
(like holy water)

7 thoughts on “Four Years Of Blogging

  1. Reya

    CONGRATULATIONS on four years!!!!!!!!! I have enjoyed your blog very much! Even though I do not always comment but I am reading your posts!!!

    Reply
  2. chryssed

    Thanks for giving me a follow. I am glad we connected out here in blog world. I will have my first on 11/7 ad it has been a journey so congratulations to you and happy anniversary to your blog. Have a blessed day and to God be the glory

    Reply

Leave a Reply

