Of Pain And Sorrow

Of Pain And Sorrow

I write of darkness
I talk of my pain
And all my sorrow
Just to let the lost know
That there are others that feel this too
I walk a valley
With hills of pain and joy on either side
But in this valley I never walk alone
I have Christ here at my side
My path may take me to the hills of pain
But my Christ climbs with me
I may walk a hill of joy
Still my Christ ascends the hill beside me
People say if I have the Lord
Then I should not see the shadows
I wish this world was so black and white
Where darkness and pain
Permanently shrunk beneath the light
But the other looks to shroud us all
In the shadows of eternal light
And there are times this comes to us all
It’s the nature of this world
And when I go there
I cry out loud
And my Lord always answers me
He’ll be at my side
Wherever I go
Whether to darkness or the light
He’ll climb with me
The hills of joy and great pain
And if these hills become mountains
He’ll be there too
And if I cannot climb and I ask of Him
He’ll throw my mountains to the sea
So I write of pain
I write of the shadows
Because these I know
I travel these paths
But I never go alone
And I will never fall
Because I have the Lord at my side

One thought on “Of Pain And Sorrow

  1. joseph elon lillie

    Amen. He is not the God who keeps us from the shadows because somewhere in them He has a gift to give us. Instead He is the God who walks with us through the shadows.
    And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness–secret riches. I will do this so you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name. Isa. 45:3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

